



RESOLUTION NO. 2016-07

A RESOULUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE MONTEREY PENINSULA WATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT RECOGNIZING MAYOR JASON BURNETT FOR HIS OUTSTANDING LEADERSHIP ON MONTEREY PENINSULA WATER SUPPLY SOLUTIONS

WHEREAS, Jason Burnett has decided to retire as Mayor of Carmel-by-the-Sea;

WHEREAS, as Mayor he provided leadership and guidance to the Monterey Peninsula Regional Water Authority, establishing the Authority as a unified voice for the Peninsula cities on water supply issues:

WHEREAS, Mayor Burnett worked jointly with the Water Management District to establish a Governance Committee for the California American Water Company desalination project, increasing transparency and oversight;

WHEREAS, Mayor Burnett worked jointly with the Water Management District in support of the passage of Senate Bill 936, decreasing the project's future cost to ratepayers;

WHEREAS, Mayor Burnett initiated all-party discussions which resulted in a settlement agreement in July 2013 which has provided a road map for the Monterey Peninsula Water Supply Project; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Burnett has dedicated personal time and relationships for the benefit of the community to extend the Cease and Desist Order, expedite review and permitting of projects, and promote innovative water supply solutions.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that on March 21, 2016 the Board of Directors of
the Monterey Peninsula Water Management District recognizes and congratulates Mr. Burnett for
outstanding leadership on Monterey Peninsula Water Supply Solutions.
On motion of Director, and second by Director, the foregoing
resolution is duly adopted this 21 st day of March 2016 by the following votes:
AYES:
NAYS:
ABSENT:
I, David J. Stoldt, Secretary to the Board of Directors of the Monterey Peninsula Water
Management District, hereby certify that the foregoing is a resolution duly adopted on the 21st day of
March 2016.
Witness my hand and seal of the Board of Directors this day of March 2016.
Thices my hand and sear of the board of breetors this day of Water 2010.

David J. Stoldt, Secretary to the Board